Do I need a Visa to come to Ireland?

Immigration Act 2004 (Visas No. 345 2011) (PDF 106kb)

Citizens of certain countries require an entry visa for Ireland.

If you are a citizen of a country that is on Schedule 1 of the Immigration Act above, you do NOT require an entry visa for Ireland. Citizens of countries which are not on the list must apply for a visa  before they travel to Ireland.

 If you are a citizen of a country that is on Schedule 2 of the Immigration Act above, you may be able to travel to Ireland if you have a valid U.K. General C Visa and meet Visa Waiver Programme requirements. For details of this programme please click here (PDF 1825kb) .

Otherwise, If you are a national of a visa-required country you will need to apply for an Irish visa in advance of travel to Ireland.

Please note that a Schengen visa or UK D visa is not valid for travel to Ireland.

Transit Visas are required by citizens of the countries listed in Schedule 3 of the Immigration Act above.

Please note all citizens of non-EU countries, whether they require a visa or not, are subject to immigration control at the point of entry to Ireland.

Applicants who are holders of Convention travel documents issued by EEA states should refer to Article 3 of the Immigration Act above  (Short-stay visits only). 

Related Items

Related Links

  • The Irish Naturalisation & Immigration Service

Related Articles

Currently no links to display.

Related Documents


Contact Details

Embassy of Ireland to the Russian Federation
Grokholski Pereulok 5
Moscow 129090
Посольство Ирландии в России
Грохольский пер., 5,
129090 Москва
Embassy/ Посольство

Тел/Tel: +7 495 937 5911
Факс/Fax: +7 495 680 0623

Visa Office/ Визовый отдел

Тел/Tel: +7 495 9375 900
+7 495 7373 636
Факс/Fax: +7 495 7373 637
+7 495 9375 902